Definitely Hispanic

Definitely Hispanic

Perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin’s celebration of Latinidad and Fresh Off the Boat’s situational humor, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspective and witty essays by social media influencer and viral phenomenon LeJuan James about growing up Hispanic in the US. Social media influencer and viral phenomenon LeJuan James loves being Hispanic. But growing up in the United States to immigrant parents, he quickly noticed that their house rules and traditions didn’t always match up with his friends’. Years later, the result was a lifetime of laugh-out-loud, relatable moments that he reenacted on camera and shared with the world online. Now, LeJuan is taking a closer look at everything he loves about his family, culture, and community. Definitely Hispanic is a collection of heartfelt memoiristic essays that explores the themes LeJuan touches upon in his videos, and celebrates the values and traditions being kept alive by Hispanic parents raising US–born children. He shares anecdotes about discovering the differences between his and his friends’ households, demystifies “La Pela” (the Spanking), explains the vital role women play in Hispanic families, and pays reverence to universal cultural truths like “food is love” and “music is in Hispanics’ DNA.” From the chapter “#Home”—in which LeJuan talks about how his family moved back and forth between the United States and Puerto Rico until settling in Orlando, Florida—to “#TheHouse”—in which he was finally able to buy his parents the home they deserve thanks to his online success—this wide-ranging collection celebrates being Latino and offers a humorous yet warm-hearted look at the lives of second-generation immigrants in the US. LeJuan’s hilarious online persona comes to life on every page.


Author
Publisher Atria Books
Release Date
ISBN 1982110090
Pages 224 pages
Rating 4/5 (93 users)

More Books:

Definitely Hispanic
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: LeJuan James
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-14 - Publisher: Atria Books

Perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin’s celebration of Latinidad and Fresh Off the Boat’s situational humor, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspect
Vital and Health Statistics
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories: Medical care
Type: BOOK - Published: 1989 - Publisher:

Hispanic Women's Health Issues
Language: en
Pages: 177
Authors:
Categories: Hispanic American women
Type: BOOK - Published: 1984 - Publisher:

Minority Employment Opportunities, 1980-85
Language: en
Pages: 126
Authors: United States. Congress. Joint Economic Committee
Categories: Minorities
Type: BOOK - Published: 1980 - Publisher:

Politics beyond Black and White
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Lauren D. Davenport
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-03-29 - Publisher: Cambridge University Press

The US is transforming into a multiracial society: today one-in-six new marriages are interracial and the multiple-race population is the fastest-growing youth
The Hispanic Population
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Post Office and Civil Service. Subcommittee on Census and Population
Categories: Digital images
Type: BOOK - Published: 1983 - Publisher:

Definitely Hispanic
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: LeJuan James
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-06-04 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin’s celebration of Latinidad and Fresh Off the Boat’s situational humor, Definitely Hispanic is a collection of introspect
Culturally Responsive Teaching in Gifted Education
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: C. Matthew Fugate
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-22 - Publisher: Routledge

Culturally Responsive Teaching in Gifted Education is a professional learning tool for practitioners who are working to create more culturally responsive school
Spirit of Heroes
Language: en
Pages: 200
Authors: Jay L. Young
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-03 - Publisher: iUniverse

Spirit of Heroes Book 2 of the Heroes Series The three remaining Nephilim, the giant heroes of old, have struggled throughout history to free their angelic ance
Advance Data from Vital & Health Statistics of the National Center for Health Statistics
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories: United States
Type: BOOK - Published: 1976 - Publisher: